October 2018 Read-A-Thon is coming

Sigh. I have been bad about writing reviews lately. I have a number that are waiting for me to go back through and post, but I’ve been so tired in the evenings that I don’t want to turn the computer on when I get home from work. I do plan on posting soon for that.

In the meantime, tomorrow is the October 2018 Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon. For Ottawa, that is starting at 8am tomorrow. I have a number of books in progress that I plan to finish in the morning before I start anything new.

So, what am I reading?

Library book: A People’s History of the Vampire Uprising, by Raymond A Villareal. It’s been billed as the vampire equivalent of World War Z, but it isn’t quite. I currently have about 170 pages left to go.

Paper book: Plight of the Living Dead by Matt Simon. This is actually a pop-science book, written with a lot of humour, about all the parasites, fungi, insects and the like that turn their victims/hosts into functional zombies. Remember the story about the fungus that makes an ant climb up to unleash spores on it’s fellow ants? Not very rare, it turns out. I’ve got 110 pages left in this one.

Audio book: An Unwanted Guest by Shari Lapena. This could be described as a new version of Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None. A small group are staying at an out of the way luxury country inn when they are trapped by an ice storm. The power is out, the land lines are out, there is no cell phone coverage, and people start dying. The narrator for the audio book is really engaging.  I have 4:35 left.

NetGalley ebook: Ike’s Mystery Man: The Cold War, the Lavender Scare, and the Untold Story of Eisenhower’s National Security Advisor, Robert Cutler by Peter Shinkle. This is a really interesting biography of Robert Cutler, and I am enjoying it so far. I’ve only just started this one, so I am only page 45 of 351. I don’t know that I will finish this one this weekend, but I am planning on getting through a chunk of it.

Waiting in the wings:

Thresher: A Deep Sea Thriller, by Michael Cole. It’s coming up on Halloween, so horror in the tradition of Jaws. I do enjoy Severed Press.

Mapping the Interior by  Stephen Graham Jones. Again, horror themed by a Native American author. Also a Tor.com novella.

Hallowe’en Party (audiobook) by Agatha Christie. Did you know that there was a Halloween-themed Hercule Poirot mystery? Perfect for the time of year.

So, it should be a fun weekend. I’ve got my knitting, for while listening to audiobooks, I’ll be picking up snacks/pre-made food on the way home, and tomorrow is supposed to be a grey and drizzly day, so perfect for curling up with a small pile of book.

Leave a comment