When Security Fails

25810610Security, by Gina Wohlsdorf, is one of the better first novels that I’ve read in a while, despite a few annoying minor flaws, and I would definitely recommend it to suspense fans.

Manderly Resort is a new operation, about to open. Tessa is the manager driving the project for her rich boss. She’s the product of the foster system, and her foster brother/crush, an extreme biker star, has shown up to see her for the first time since the death of his twin brother. She doesn’t really have time to deal with him, since she’s trying to wrangle a temperamental chef, married staffers having a rough patch, a cleaner who has issues with men, and a lover who is chief of security, up on the twentieth floor where no one except security even knows how to get to.

Oh, and there is a pair of killers lurking in the building, killing people off, one by one, but no one knows that they are there, other than the narrator of the book.

I did find the apparently omniscient narrator to get a handle on at the start of the book, but when you reach the point where you find out the truth about the narrator, I went ‘ooooohh, now I get it. That’s clever.’

There were some characters that I really wanted to survive (the previously mentioned cleaner who turns out to be tougher than expected was top of my list, not Tessa or her foster brother/crush). There were other characters who I would have cheerfully killed myself (the married pair were top of the list).

But as much as I enjoyed the book, there were some sloppy parts that had me gritting my teeth. The worst was the point where there is a smell that has a character investigation, opening door after door, only to be called away before opening the door where he would have seen a dead body, giving away the game. He never bothered to go back, which made me want to smack him.

There’s also the danced around conversation between Tessa and her brother that keeps being put off, which made me want to knock their heads together.

And seriously, a glamorous resort, but members of the staff are using the penthouses as their homes away from home? That seems a little iffy.

SPOILER. Finally, who were the damn killers? Since the narrator turns out to be very limited, we never find out more than his speculation of who they are or why they are doing this. As well, if they are planning on killing everyone, why did they let all the sous-chefs and kitchen staff leave to go home, even after the killing has (quietly) started. Plus, the security staff were pretty damned ineffective, considering they were killed with little to no effort./SPOILER

The final action sequence definitely saved the book for me. At the end, despite unanswered questions, I was very satisfied with the book. I will say, though, it feels like instead of a book, it should have been a kick-ass summer thriller movie. I look forward to seeing what the author does next.

Leave a Reply

