Weekend Reading – the last weekend of May

Heading into another weekend (and remotely cheering for my niece who is competing at the Destination Imagination Global Finals in Tennessee). Since my sister is with the Isobel in Tennessee, my brother-in-law is taking the other kid to Niagara Falls for the weekend, so it will be a quiet weekend. So, what am I reading?

My audiobook for walks and knitting: The Lost City of the Monkey God by Douglas Preston. It’s non-fiction, and sounded really interesting, so I reserved it from the library/overdrive. Conveniently enough, it hit my account the same day that I finished The Geek Feminist Revolution audiobook (I plan to write a review this weekend)

My paper book for the bath: Fractured: Tales of the Canadian Post-Apocalypse edited by Sylvia Moreno-Garcia. I read a previous anthology in the line, Dead North, which was Zombie stories. I definitely plan to read another anthology from the line, Those Who Make Us: Canadian Creature, Myth, and Monster Stories. There are plenty of excellent short story writers in Canada.

My ebook of the moment: The Ship from Antonia Honeywell. This is a YA novel that was originally published two years ago, and is now get publication in the US. Dystopia on a ship after the world collapses under (not very defined) climactic and economic disasters. I got this from Netgalley,

Waiting in the wings: From Netgalley I have The Massacre of Mankind by Stephen Baxter, a sequel to War of the Worlds. I’m also waiting to see if I’ll get the go-ahead from Netgalley for The Gone World by Tom Sweterlitsch, which sounds like a time travel horror thriller. It’s coming out next winter, and I am crossing fingers, since it sounds really intriguing.

I’ve also got some new ebook purchases (gotta love ebook sales): The Burial Hour by Jeffrey Deaver (mystery), Spaceman of Bohemia by Jaroslav Kalfar (literary sf), Reenu-You by Michele Tracy Berger (an sf novella around issues for women of colour), and a bunch of Agatha Christie mysteries.

Leave a Reply

