Modern Poetry

34014628

Poetry is a category of writing that bored me as a student (high school does a great job of sucking all of the life out of a lot of reading). But now I have decided to give poetry another go. I started with more traditional poetry, with The Essential Rumi (translated by Coleman Barks), and A Thousand Mornings by Mary Oliver (Goodreads Choice 2012 winner).

Then I saw The Cloud Versus Grand Unification Theory available of NetGalley, and decided that it sounded intriguing, so I put in a request.

The poems in this book were interesting. Very definitely free verse, with no rhyming, or even the sort of formatting I would have expected. And yet, the poems resonated with me. There was a lot of focus on the modern world, and technology (which was a pleasant change from most poetry) and a sort of whistful look backwards.

If there was anything negative about the collection, it was that there is little emotional variation. Pretty much every poem left me somewhere between melancholy and depression. In general this is not necessarily a bad thing, but it made it difficult to read more than a handful of poems at a time. I know that poets aren’t going to take orders, but still, the occasional poem that was more upbeat would have helped the reader.

Did I enjoy the book? Yes.
Am I going to rush out to find the author’s other collections? Maybe not.
Would I recommend it to other people? Only if I was sure they had no tendancy towards depression, since I think it would make things a lot worse.

Leave a Reply

