24-Hour Readathon, anyone?

Tomorrow is the twice annual Dewey’s 24 hour readathon, which is something I’ve never tried doing before.  We’ll see how far I can get. For my location (Ottawa, Canada), it goes from 8am Saturday to 8am Sunday. Thankfully, they give the option of taking breaks for food and sleep. I don’t know that I’ll make it a full 24 hours, but it gives me a chance to catch up on some reading.

As the day goes on, I’ll be adding updates here.

8am: And we are off. I am starting the day with two books in progress: A book of poetry and a book of superhero themed short stories, both through Netgalley.

9am: I read 5 poems (don’t want to read too many at a time)  and 2 short stories in hour one.

10am: 6 more poems and 3 short stories. I’ll definitely finish these two books today.

11 am: more poems, and 2 more short stories. There’s only 20 pages left in each book. Time to take a break for food, and maybe a walk with an audio book.

12pm: Well, I got the food, but took a shower instead of a walk. But I have finished the book of short stories  (Behind The Mask). Now to finish the poetry book.

1pm: The poetry book is now finished (putting me over 150 pages so far) and I have started a steam punk novel set in Japan.

2pm: 20 pages into the new book, and I am at Broadway Bar and Grill for lunch. Chicken Quesadilla with fries, followed by ‘monkey tails’ for desert

3pm: Stopped at the library on the way home to pick up a book on reserve. Now the hockey game is on, which makes great background to reading.

4pm: I am now 25% through the steam punk novel. I did take a break to read a little fanfiction. But I’m getting rather bleary eyed and the hockey game is tied (go Senators!), so it time for a short nap of an hour or so.

6pm: okay, I needed that nap. And when I got up, the game was still tied, and about to go into overtime. 

7pm: The steam punk novel is at 35%, and I have also listened to an hour of an audiobook  (one of James Patterson Bookshots.com,  so it’s only 3 hours long, and much shorter when listened to at 2x speed)

8pm: It’s been 12 hours, and I have read 250 pages, as well as listened to an hour of an audiobook.  The current book is now at 40%. I doubt I’ll make it up til midnight,  let alone 8am tomorrow,  but it’s been a hell of a ride so far.

9pm: A nice little break for a soak in a hot tub, and a little fanfiction reading as a palate cleanser (like a bowl of ice cream or potato chips) 

10pm: I am at 50% of the current book, and I am losing steam. Still 300 pages, nearly half an audiobook and some fanfiction is pretty darn good for a day, and there is still time in the morning, when I get up.

Bed time…

7am: I’m up and doing one last push.

8am: I read another 50 pages in the novel, hitting the 71% mark. Not bad.

Leave a Reply

